National GEA Summit

Baseload Renewable Energy Summit Agenda
June 7-8, 2016 | Grand Sierra Resort | Reno, NV

*Please note this agenda is subject to change (agenda as of 5.3.16)

Tuesday, June 7
6:00 pm-8:00 pm
Networking Reception

7:00 pm
Industry Honors
BPA, NHA Recognition of Outstanding Projects
Award of GEA Honors for Outstanding Projects (TBA)

Wednesday, June 8

8:30-9:00am - Welcoming Remarks
Karl Gawell, Executive Director, Geothermal Energy Association, confirmed
Video Address by Senator Harry Reid, State of Nevada, confirmed
Patricia Spearman, Nevada State Senator, confirmed
Other Keynote Speakers TBA

9:00-9:30am – Some Basics about Baseload Renewables: potential, emissions, attributes
Ben Matek, Industry Analyst & Research Projects Manager, Geothermal Energy Association, confirmed
(Biomass and Hydro experts to join discussion)

9:30-10:45am – Panel Session: “Utilities discuss baseload renewable resources, their value to the power systems and how to find the right mix of technologies”

Moderated by: Joe Greco, Senior Vice President, Terra-Gen LLC, confirmed

Jack McGinley, Director of Regulatory and Legislative Strategy, NV Energy, confirmed
Elaine Sison-Lebrilla, Senior Project Manager, SMUD, confirmed
Barry Dong, Manager Geothermal/Biomass, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, confirmed
Tess Park, Vice President, Power Supply, Idaho Power, confirmed
Brendan McCarthy, State Environmental Policy Manager, Portland General Electric, confirmed

10:45-11:00am – Networking break

11:00-12:15am– Panel Session: “State initiatives and implementation plans for promoting clean energy, reducing carbon emissions and meeting tomorrow’s power needs – the role and outlook for baseload renewables”  

Moderated by: Terry Page, Regulatory Affairs and Innovation, Enel Green Power, invited
Angela Dykema, Director, Governor’s Office of Energy, State of Nevada, confirmed
Gene Seidlitz, Acting Deputy State Director, BLM Nevada, confirmed
Steve Zuretti, Director, Regulatory Affairs – West, Brookfield Renewable Energy Group, confirmed
Rob Del Mar, Central Oregon Field Energy Analyst, Oregon Department of Energy, confirmed
Governor’s Energy Office, Colorado, tentative
Laura Nelson, Governor’s Energy Policy Advisor, State of Utah, tentative
Sam Ricketts, Governor’s Energy Office, Washington State, invited
Dave Emme, Administrator, Nevada Department of Environmental Protection, invited
Charlene Wardlow, California Department of Conservation, invited
Carl Zichella, Director of Western Transmission, Energy Program, NRDC, invited
Laura Wisland, Senior Energy Analyst, Union of Concerned Scientists, invited

12:15-1:15pm Lunch

1:15-1:45pm– Panel Session: “California Counties Baseload Generation Coalition”
Moderated by
: Randy Keller, Director of Development, CalEnergy, confirmed
Supervisor Ryan Kelley, Imperial County, CA, confirmed
Rosemaria Smallcombe, Mariposa 1 District Supervisor, confirmed
Julee Malinowski Ball, Public Policy Advocates, invited

1:45-3:00pm – Panel Session: “Current Market Issues in the West” and their impact on baseload renewables:

  • Expansion of the CAISO
  • Energy Imbalance Markets
  • CA and OR 50 percent RPS
  • Implementation of the Clean Power Plan
  • Nevada’s RPS 2.0

Moderator: Josh Nordquist, Director, Business Development, Ormat Technologies, Inc., invited
Jonathan Weisgall, Vice President, Government Relations, Berkshire Hathaway Energy, confirmed
Jim Caldwell, Board of Directors, CEERT, confirmed
Drew Bohan, Chief Deputy Director, California Energy Commission, confirmed
Jan Smutny-Jones, Executive Director, Independent Energy Producers Association, confirmed
Dave Olsen, CAISO, tentative
Paul Thomsen, Chairman, Public Utilities Commission of Nevada, invited
California Public Utilities Commission, invited
Rachel Shimshak, Executive Director, Renewable Northwest Project, invited

3:00-3:15pm- Networking break

3:15-4:00pm –Panel Session: “Some developing new technologies, including hybrid projects, that may increase value and diversity for power systems”
Moderated by: Ann Robertson-Tait, Business Development Manager and Senior Geologist, GeothermEx, Inc., invited
Susan Petty, President & Chief Technology Officer, AltaRock Energy, confirmed
Joseph Scherer, GreenFire Energy, confirmed
Gia Snyder, Chief Executive Officer, Natel Energy, Inc., confirmed

4:00-5:00pm – Wrap Up Panel Session: “Energy, Tax, and Other Policies Needed to Recognize the Values of Baseload Renewables”
Moderator: Jack Thirolf, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Enel Green Power North America Inc., invited

Bob Cleaves, President, Biomass Power Association, confirmed
Karl Gawell, Executive Director, Geothermal Energy Association, confirmed
Jeff Leahy, Deputy Executive Director, National Hydropower Association, confirmed
Panelists from earlier panels invited to join the discussion.

5:00-6:00pm – Networking reception