GEA Text logo GEA text logo
GRC Member Information
2016 U.S. and International Geothermal Energy Showcase

The Latest 2016 Showcase Agenda!
Opening Keynote by:
Mr. Sakari Oksanen, Deputy Director-General of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)
Luncheon Keynote by:
Honorable Senator Dean Heller, U.S. Senator of Nevada

Special thanks to Gold Level Sponsor!

Power Engineers Logo image

GEA is pleased to hold the 2016 Showcase with support from the US Trade and Development Agency, US Department of Energy Geothermal Technologies Office, US Agency for International Development, US Department of State, Overseas Private Investment Corporation, The World Bank, United States Energy Association, and the Geothermal Resources Council.

U.S. Trade and Development Agency U.S. Agency for International Development U.S. Department of State Navy Opic logoWorld Bank logo USEA Logo

What are the building blocks for successful geothermal energy projects?
Find out at the Geothermal Energy Association's (GEA) 2016 U.S. and International Geothermal Energy Showcase Thursday, March 17, 2016 at the Ronald Reagan and International Trade Center in Washington, DC.

Over 36 countries will be represented at the Showcase. Represented countries include the United States, United Kingdom, Jamaica, United Arab Emirates, Djibouti, India, Belgium, Guatemala, Hungary, Uganda, Turkey, the Philippines, Fiji, Costa Rica, Indonesia, Burundi, St. Kitts, Kenya, Mexico, Japan, Ethiopia, Qatar, Iceland, Taiwan, Albania, Nevis, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Burkina Faso, Vanuatu, Italy, Taiwan, Peru, Colombia, and more.

Registration in now available. To register please click here. Online registration closes March 16 at 12:00 p.m. After that time, only onsite registration will be available. Onsite registration will begin 7:00 a.m. at the Atrium Hall at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center.

Who is speaking?
Please click here for the 2016 Showcase Agenda.

Opening Keynote:
Sakari Oksanen, Deputy Director-General, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

Luncheon Keynote:
Senator Dean Heller, U.S. Senator of Nevada

Sakari Oksanen, Deputy Director-General, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)
Senator Dean Heller, U.S. Senator of Nevada
Sahele Tamiru Fekede
, Acting Director for Energy Study and Development, Ministry of Water, Irrigation and Electricity, Ethiopia
Wassihun Abate Abebe, Director- Legal Affairs Directorate, Ministry of Finance and Economic Cooperation, Ethiopia
Meseret Teklemariam Zemedkun, Program Manager, ARGeo, Regional Office for Africa (ROA), United National Environment Programme (UNEP)
Karl Gawell, Executive Director, Geothermal Energy Association (GEA)
Ben Matek
, Industry Analyst & Research Projects Manager, Geothermal Energy Association (GEA)
Gabriel Negatu, Regional Director for Eastern Africa Regional Resource Center, African Development Bank (AfDB)
Albert Mugo, CEO and Managing Director, Kenya Electricity Generating Company (KenGen)
Tim Williamson, Deputy Director- Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of State
John Garrison, Energy Advisor, USAID Africa Bureau, Power Africa and Trade Africa
Susan Hamm, Acting Director, U.S. Department of Energy Geothermal Technologies Office
Jack Hand, President & CEO, POWER Engineers, Inc.
Doug Glaspey, President & COO, US Geothermal, Inc.
Stephen Morel, Climate Finance Specialist, Structured Finance, Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)
Luca Xodo, Head of Business Development and Domestic Sales, EXERGY SpA
Pierre Audinet, Clean Energy Program Team Leader, ESMAP Program, The World Bank
Mike Eckhart, Managing Director, Citigroup, Inc.
Paul Brophy, President, Geothermal Resources Council & Board Member, International Geothermal Association (IGA)
Jonathan Weisgall, Vice President of Government Relations, Berkshire Hathaway Energy
Hiroto Kamiishi, Director, Energy & Mining Group, Japanese Investment Cooperation Agency (JICA)
Dr. Kifle Kahsai, Deputy Director and Chief Geoscientist, SPC Geoscience Division
Bruce Cutright, CEO, Thermal Energy Partners, LLC
Dr. Robert Podgorney, Geothermal Lead, Idaho National Laboratory (INL)
Steve Ponder, Executive Director, Geothermal Resources Council (GRC)
Joshua Nordquist, Director- Business Development, Ormat Technologies, Inc.
Alexander Richter, Marketing Director, Green Energy Geothermal
Paul von Hirtz, President, Thermochem, Inc. and Commissioner, PT Thermochem Indonesia
Juan Luis Del Valle Luarca, Renewable Power Projects Development Director, Grupo Dragon
Mike Long, Senior Project Manager- Strategic Consulting, POWER Engineers, Inc.
Kara Dewhurst, Chief Sociologist, Dewhurst Group
Kate Young, Analyst, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Susan Petty, President & CTO, AltaRock Energy, Inc.
Julian Richardson, CEO, Parhelion Underwriting Ltd.
Ann-Robertson Tait, Business Development Manager & Senior Geologist, GeothermEx
Craig O'Connor, Director of Business Development – Renewable Energy & High Technology, Export-Import Bank of the United States (Ex-Im)
Magnus Gehringer, CEO, Consent Energy LLC
Laurie Hietter, Founding Principal, Panorama Environmental, LLC
Adriana M. Valencia, Energy Specialist, Energy Division- Infrastructure and Environment Sector, Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
Timothy Reinhardt, Program Manager- Systems Analysis & Low Temperature and Coproduced Resources, US Department of Energy Geothermal Technologies Office

Registration is now available. Click below to register. With questions, please contact

Sponsors Geothermal Resource Group logo   Dewhurst Group
Media partners    piensageotermia logo   Think Geo Energy logo   Navigant logo   AGI logo   Renewable Energy Logo     
To view sponsorship opportunities for the Showcase, please click here.
Skip Navigation Links